Portland

September 29, 2006

By Trisha Cheguis

portland1.jpgLast year, I made it a goal to see all 50 American states by the time I was 40. I didn’t think it would be too hard, I mean, I’ve lived in the States for awhile and even when I didn’t live here, I was always visiting since I have a lot of family including a zillion cousins scattered throughout the country. So it surprised me to discover that my visitation rate for states other than the more popular ones like California and New York was pitiful. This had to change.

I chose to go to Portland, Oregon in August. The Red Hot Chili Peppers were opening their U.S. tour there and I timed my visit to coincide with the concert. I asked my friend Angela to come along and she readily agreed. We didn’t know much about Portland except that everyone we asked said that we would love it. And we did.

Portland is the kind of place that has everything but no one really knows it does. It has a business center, beautiful parks, trails, and green spaces, an expansive farmer’s market, a sports complex to house their professional basketball team (Go Trailblazers!) as well as other events, an amazing bookstore called Powell’s, and even a Chinatown. Not to mention a wonderful transit system, great restaurants, and several microbreweries.

One hidden treasure in Portland is their Classical Chinese Garden. Located within Chinatown, the entrance is pretty nondescript. Everything outside its walls relays the hustle and bustle of city life, but once inside, it’s nothing but tranquility. The transformation is dramatic and it is only when you look up and see the buildings of the other world that you remember where you are. The Garden also has a teahouse that overlooks a breathtaking pond filled with water lilies and lotus.

I really enjoyed Portland. We even managed to attend a food and wine festival which was so fun we were late for the concert. But at least I can add it my list of states I’ve visited. Seventeen down, only 33 to go…

Leave a comment